The Black Tapes

Okay. Off the bat, let me just say, I’m not that big a fan of horror, paranormal, or supernatural stories. They just don’t scare me…and isn’t that their purpose? Don’t get me wrong, I don’t dislike the genre but…

By the age of 10 I had read James Herbert and Stephen King. I’d watched Christine, Carrie, and The Shining, along with countless others. Sure, I jumped in all the right places, but I was never really scared. When I watched The Exorcist, I found it laughable, while those around me were genuinely spooked, to me it was more like Repossessed.

If you add comedy to it however, I absolutely love it. Evil dead, totally amazing. Supernatural was fun to watch, well…watching my wife hide behind a pillow. Or make it psychological such as Seven, or Silence of the Lambs. Oh and you can keep your Blair Witch, I’ve seen scarier episodes of Scooby Doo!

The Black Tapes, however…it has its claws in me.

A succession of supernatural tales, threaded together, around the slowly unfolding tale of the stars of the show. Namely journalist, Alex Reagan, and paranormal debunker, Dr. Richard Strand, who is the main topic for the show.

Is it that I’ve not had anything spooky in my diet for ages, or is it the podcast format that is giving me goosebumps? One things for sure I will be tuning in every episode.

I must admit, I have caught myself looking over my shoulder a couple of times while listening, and for that, it has definitely done what it says on the tin, and earned 5 stars from me.

If I may offer a little constructive criticism, The music used in the show is a little too jovial. Creep that music up a bit, and the show will be perfect!

For more information on The Black Tapes, check out their website, or hit them up on Twitter.

#WN!

Looking for some great, laugh out loud comedy? Or maybe some awsome SciFi? Check out some of my latest reviews by clicking the picture links below.

Would you like to get to know the people who make these wonderful audio dramas? Then why not check out my interview posts by clicking the ‘Behind the Mic’ picture link below.


I have also just started a series of posts documenting the history of audio drama which can be found by clicking on the following link.

5 thoughts on “The Black Tapes

  1. Pingback: No Such Thing As A Fish – #Wh1TeN0izE!

  2. Pingback: Audioblivious Productions…Wynabego Warrior – #Wh1TeN0izE!

  3. Pingback: You Are Here… – #Wh1TeN0izE!

  4. Pingback: Small Town Horror – #Wh1TeN0izE!

Leave a Reply

